Ten Symbols of Healing with Spiritual Meanings

There are several ways to understand the idea of “healing symbols,” and the most significant healing spiritual symbols can differ significantly based on context, tradition, and culture. Having said that, certain symbols are definitely more well-known than others. Here are some of the most well-known healing symbols to get you started researching this interesting subject.

Read More: symbol of health and energy


The Caduceus is made up of two snakes around a staff that often has wings. The wings stand for speed, while the entwined snakes are supposed to symbolize the harmony and balance needed for healing. The Caduceus has its roots in Greek mythology, where it was frequently connected to the messenger deity Hermes. In the West, hospitals, clinics, and other medical institutions frequently use it, despite the fact that it is occasionally associated with trade and commerce and is frequently mistaken for the Rod of Asclepius—possibly a more historically accurate Grecian symbol of healing.

Asclepius’s rod

It is simple to see the previously reported mistake with the Caduceus sign because the Rod of Asclepius emblem likewise shows a snake coiling around a staff, but this time the staff does not have wings. The staff symbolizes the ability to heal, while the serpent stands for renewal and rebirth. Once more, the emblem originates in ancient Greek mythology, however it also has Roman origins. There, it was connected to the deity of healing, Asclepius. This explains the rationale behind the debate between the Rod of Asclepius and the Caduceus—the former having deeper historical origins in a therapeutic setting! The World Health Organization and a number of other European medical organizations and practices may have been using this emblem.


The three arcs, one semicircle, and a dot make up the well-known Om sign. These stand for the transcendental state, the unity of all creation, and the three states of consciousness—waking, dreaming, and profound sleep, respectively. In Buddhism, Jainism, and Hinduism, it is a sacred sound and symbol. Om is frequently used in therapeutic or spiritual practices including yoga, chanting, and meditation. It is thought to symbolize the essence of the cosmos. Chanting the sound “Om” is supposed to promote calmness, focus, and spiritual awareness because it is said to resonate at a frequency that is in tune with the natural frequency of the cosmos.


The well-known Yin Yang sign is made up of two overlapping sections, one white and one black, with a tiny dot of the complementary color in each. The white half symbolizes “yang,” which stands for light, warmth, and activity, while the black section represents “yin,” which is connected to darkness, coldness, and passivity. The dots are meant to represent the ever-present flow of yin and yang, each of which carries a seed of the opposite. The Yin Yang sign is used to promote both physical and spiritual healing, as well as to symbolize balance and interdependence between various components of the body, mind, and spirit in many disciplines (such as traditional Chinese medicine). In addition to being a beautiful theme, the symbol is commonly understood to represent harmony and balance.


Even though it blooms in murky waters, the lotus flower remains attractive and pure. As a result, the lotus, with its numerous layers of petals that open gradually, has come to symbolize enlightenment, rebirth, and purity. It also symbolizes a progressive spiritual awakening. Buddhist artwork frequently features a Buddha or Bodhisattva sitting on a lotus flower, signifying the achievement of enlightenment. Hinduism uses the lotus blossom as a sign of creation, heavenly beauty, and wealth. It is linked to many deities. Additionally, it is a common ingredient in many ancient remedies, especially Ayurveda, which uses various plant components to cure various maladies. The lotus flower, which represents the ascent to higher awareness and the journey from darkness to light, is essential to meditation and visualization techniques for healing and relaxation.

The Tree of Life

The ancient emblem known as the Tree of Life. Typically, it’s shown as a big tree with enormous branches that reach the sky and deep roots. The branches are connected to the skies and the spiritual realm, while the roots are connected to the ground and the material world. The Tree represents power, development, and connectivity, demonstrating the unity of all things in the cosmos. The Tree of Life may even be the center and source of all life, according to creation myths in some civilizations. It represents plenty, regrowth, and fertility in other contexts. It is also used to symbolize the process of development and evolution that takes place throughout our lives, as well as to stand for healing and balance in the body, mind, and soul.


In Jewish and Muslim traditions, the hand-shaped amulet known as the Hamsa sign is utilized as a protection, good fortune, and blessing symbol. Arabic for “five” refers to the five fingers on the hand when the term “Hamsa” is used. The Hamsa is frequently beautifully adorned with geometric patterns, other symbols, and Arabic or Hebrew text. Within Jewish customs, the Hamsa is referred to as the “Hand of Miriam” and is connected to the prophet Moses’ sister, who represents power, grace, and knowledge. For Muslims, the Hamsa is also referred to as the “Hand of Fatima” and is connected to the prophet Muhammad’s daughter, representing love, kindness, and patience. The Hamsa is frequently worn as a talisman or shown in public spaces to encourage healing as it is said to protect against the evil eye and bad energy.

Dharma Wheel

The Eightfold Path—right understanding, right intention, right speech, right action, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness, and right concentration—is represented by the eight spokes of the Dharma Wheel. These eight elements are seen to be essential on the way to enlightenment and breaking the cycle of suffering. The discipline required to accomplish this aim is represented by the hub of the wheel. The rim stands for the ultimate goal of the Buddhist path, which is the perfection of knowledge. The round form of the wheel completes its significance by signifying the perpetual cycle of change and rebirth as well as the cyclical aspect of existence. As a symbol of the Buddhist path, the Dharma Wheel is frequently utilized by practitioners of meditation and other spiritual activities to aid with concentration. It is also frequently used in Buddhist artwork and is widespread in Buddhist nations like Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Thailand.

The Flower of Life

The Flower of Life is a geometric design with six-fold symmetry that is made up of overlapping circles that resemble flowers. It was utilized by several ancient nations, including Egypt, China, and India, as well as by spiritual traditions like the Kabbalah. It is seen as a representation of the cosmos’ fundamental geometric structure as well as of oneness and connectivity. The Flower of Life is said to harmonize the body, mind, and spirit and is frequently utilized in spiritual activities like energy healing and meditation. Moreover, the pattern appears in religious geometry and architectural pieces.

Symbols of Reiki

A collection of holy symbols known as Reiki symbols are employed in the Japanese energy healing technique known as Reiki. Reiki practitioners use these symbols to assist guide and concentrate energy during a healing session. Reiki practitioners utilize symbols to connect with and channel certain energy frequencies for healing. Each symbol is a visual representation of that energy. During a Reiki session, the symbols are usually drawn or visualized, and using them helps strengthen the healing energy.